If you or a friend has that problem of never turning up on time and leaving you waiting, Apple's Find My Friends app may help. In this short report I'll show you how.
To begin using Find My Friends
Your friends will be emailed to ask if they want to share their location with you. If they accept you can see where they are, and they can see you.
You can share locations for a limited time -- useful when working in groups, visiting a conference or what not.
You now know how to set up both permanent and temporary connections with chosen friends. Now let's look at using this information.
Scenario: You have a meeting in town at 2pm, but you know the person you plan to meet isn't particularly punctual, so set up temporary location sharing between you and the other person(s) as above.
Once you've achieved this you can launch the app, select the friend you want to be notified about and tap the More… button in the toolbar.
A contact card opens at the bottom of which you can choose Notify Me or Notify (your friend). In this dialog you can choose to set a notification when you or your friend arrive at or leave a specific place, or even set a notification when you or your friend are within a certain radius of the destination location.
This lets you set a notification that activates when you or your friend leaves their starting point to attend the meeting, or when your contact or yourself are a certain distance away from the destination. This should ensure you aren’t kept waiting at the destination because you'll have better insight into when your contact will show up.
Once you have created a Find My Friends connection you can ask Siri to help set notifications up, just say (for example): "Notify me when [your contact name] leaves their current location."
A final tip
iOS collects Frequent Locations data about you when Location services are active. You can check what's there and delete the History database in Settings>Privacy>Location Services>System Services>Frequent Locations.
The History sits at the bottom of the page -- explore the categories to see what it knows about your movements. Apple says this information is "kept solely on your device" and is used for certain services -- but you can delete it if you like.
I hope this report helps you better understand Find My Friends.
These articles may also be worth reading:
Got a story? Drop me a line via Twitter or in comments below and let me know. I'd like it if you chose to follow me on Twitter so I can let you know when fresh items are published here first on Computerworld.