Industry


Ads by TechWords

See your link here


Dan Tynan's picture
Dan Tynan

Culture Crash

Bloggers beware: Bad ads can come back to bite you

Last week I wrote about Linkstar, a UK-based company that offers to place text ads for its clients on small, low-traffic Web sites. (See "The curious case of Linkstar Media.") Though Linkstar is extremely close-lipped about who it is and what it does, I couldn't see anything wrong with the ads they were placing (unless you object to running ads for online gambling sites).

Is there anything wrong with running a text ad on your blog and pocketing a few sawbucks for your troubles? Not a thing. But be careful whom you do business with. You could find yourself lumped in with all the text link spammers on Google's blacklist.

And then? There goes your traffic. Goodbye career as a Web 2.0 entrepreneur; hello day job at Wal-Mart.

In my research on Linkstar, I ran across text ad companies that operate in a similar manner, but whose ads are definitely not on the up and up.

Blog Bites Man author Jon Silvers details one such encounter with "Martin Hardy" from an unnamed advertising company, who was willing to pay him $100 to place permanent text ads on five subpages of his blog. "Martin" even sent him a sample of one ad, which can still be found at a site called Easy Diet Review.

It's a quasi-nonsensical slab of text with a half-dozen links embedded (I've removed the links but indicated where they are by underlining them):

Several civic welfare organizations back the cpr first aid training to the citizens. They believe that with proper first aid training, citizens are better able to take care of their health which will minimize the drug usage. On the other hand it will encourage the use of prescription drugs and threats caused by self-diagnosing of drugs will be minimized. It also provides awareness of different forms of vitamins like vitamin a, B and C and their specific benefits.

Those links lead to the following sites:

1staidrescue.com
24-7drug.com
A-Zvitamin.com
Bestfirstaidinfo.com
Dailyvitaminmineral.com
Drugsinfosource.com

These are ad farms masquerading as legitimate sites. Except for the generic content and images found on each one, they're otherwise identical in format and intent. They serve no purpose but to induce people to click on ads -- something that clearly violates Google's Adsense Terms of Service.

The domains are registered to various people in Pakistan, Portugal, Singapore, and the US, though the odds of any of that information being legit are rather slim. Using the search engine at DomainTools, I found at least 1600 other domains associated with the owners of these six sites -- and that's probably just the tip of the spamberg.

I'm no SEO maven, but I'm guessing that getting hundreds or even thousands of small blogs to backlink to these sites would boost their Google juice, increasing their traffic and in turn producing enough ad revenue to more than offset the cost of the text ads they wanted to place.

It's not as insidious as hijacking your browser's home page or installing adware to drive you to link farms, but the net effect is similar. Why go to all this trouble? Because this scam is much harder to detect. As Silvers writes:

It's going to be incredibly tough for search engine algorithms to filter out these spam links. The paragraphs are written in perfect English and the text links go to various different websites. While the example above is incongruous with the rest of the site's content, in another example, the spam paragraph actually relates perfectly to the rest of the page -- i.e., it's contextual and much more likely that someone will click on the links, giving greater validity to the ads as far as the search engines are concerned.

I got in touch with one publisher who briefly ran ads from this company in 2007, but asked that his name and site be left out of this post. He now says he "will never offer this ad type again as there is a real danger in getting thrown out of Google's index, which can damage other revenue streams seriously."

These types of offers started popping up well over a year ago. By now, "Martin Hardy" is long gone, as are Mary Chorney, Heising Robert, Christian Michael, Andrew Artz, David Kruse, and the other names used to make this offer.

But spammy text-link ad deals haven't gone away. And bloggers hungry to see some kind of return on their hard work will be tempted to take them up on it.

My advice? Don't do it. This is about more than getting on Google's bad side. It's about protecting your brand, which as we move fully into a Web-based economy will quickly become your most valuable -- and most vulnerable -- asset.

More important than that: It's about not letting the bad guys win. Personally, I think that's worth far more than $100.

When not spending ridiculous amounts of time chasing down spammy advertisers, Dan Tynan tends his blogs, Culture Crash and Tynan on Tech.

What People Are Saying

Hi Dan, Thank you for

Hi Dan,
Thank you for investigating LinkStar and sharing your findings/insights. I also received an offer from them this evening and a Google search, to discover any information on this company, quickly led me to your article.
An interesting point was made in your article about their use of perfect English. If you check their site, they spell focuses as "focusses" (http://www.linkstar.co.uk/services.php): "Linkstar focusses on what we see as the eventual future of all advertising - the internet."
They may have already changed/corrected this, but I found it curious that a company that designs websites cannot spell properly. They need to focus on spelling.
A very well-written piece. Thank you for your investment in time and research. I might have made a huge mistake, as others have, had I not read both of your articles regarding LinkStar.

Rob.

Linkstar contacted me today too

They were very persistent and upped their offer in every email to me... until I started questions like you did in this first article, Dan. After that, the quickly lost interest in me...

The emails I got almost seemed desperate, and the website in question has very little traffic or Pagerank, so it didn't quite make sense either that they were willing to pay that much for it.

Oh well, better safe than sorry - I passed on the offer.

Linkstar

Thank you for your insight into Linkstar. As a non-profit organization always looking for revenue, I was interested in the offer from Linkstar to place advertising on our website, but thanks to a bit of Google sleuthing and your comments, we have been saved from a major web-headache.

Excellent articles on

Excellent articles on Linkstar. I was able to advise a client to steer clear lest their website be sandboxed by Google...

Thanks for your

Thanks for your article(s).
They also arrived in The Netherlands and obtained my contact information from the SIDN (the organization for domain .nl registration) whois info.
They are now also using the domain link-star.co.uk

I also didn't trust it and after some searching I know that I better mark this mail as SPAM.

By the way I also found an article on a Dutch site:
http://donkerdump.nl/node/1115
He also got an mail and replied he wanted only money on his bankaccount (instead of online payment). He didn't got any respons back.
However somewhat later the password and secret question of his paypal account was changed. He can't draw a connection, but it is at least quite a coincidence.

Thanks for your Post and Details

Just received a note from Gayelene Reynolds, Linkstar. I assumed it to be bogus and was appreciative of your post to confirm my suspicions.

Best to you and your work!

Dan, Thank You for this

Dan, Thank You for this information. As a webmaster, I myself have had reviewed a few SEO knowledge, google, etc. Though I'm not as good a blogger as you are, but I read and I understand things. Before I accepted their offer I have searched why text ads? Because it doesn't consume space. Most probably your website was declined after they reviewed it. I don't think you exposed linkstar because they didn't answer your question on who they were, I think it was because they backed off on the advert posting. There are many things to consider on posting an advert to a website. To many requirements, too many yes and no-no's. I'm looking at your webpages and I see that it is bombarded by paid links, w/c means to say you adamantly created this webpages for money to generate income. And that my friend is another requirement for advertising. please feel free to contact me. You have my e-mail.

Hello

Enjoyed your article on text link solicitation e-mails going out. I also have received several for both my website and my blog. I am interested in contacting R. Kasperski - who posted a comment on your site and solicit his opinion on blog design and advgertising to generate income. Of course - any advise you can lend is also deeply appreciated.My website address is: artdecolampgallery.com
Regards, Sonny

Linkstar uses fake names like Kasperski..

I know who wrote this message, and it wasn't anyone named Kasperski. Linkstar is a scam internet organization who uses unsuspecting domain owners to 'fool' Google into sending visitors to crappy link farms. You can look at their domain and see scam written all over it. Why don't they have their text ads on their own website? Because they don't want to get their site blacklisted, they'd much prefer Google punish you than them. What losers they are at Linkstar. Linkstar sucks. Also, why would any legitimate organization use so many fake names? And be so stupid as to use famous, well known fake names?

Thanks for this information,

Thanks for this information, it is really helpful. I have just been contacted by Linkstar, and didn't quite feel right about the fact that they are not revealing the name of their "client." Your blog post will save me a lot of time and trouble.