Industry


Ads by TechWords

See your link here


Dan Tynan's picture
Dan Tynan

Culture Crash

The curious case of Linkstar Media

Some day I plan to run my own vast Web 2.0 empire, and the media world will tremble at the mere mention of my name.

For now, though, I operate a humble blog (Tynan on Tech) that, well, let's just say it isn't exactly burning up the ComScore charts as one of the 100 hottest Web properties. I have a small but dedicated audience composed largely of family members and their pets, as well as a few stragglers who find their way via the stories I write for this site and others.

So I was a little surprised when, out of the blue, I got an email from "Sarah Bennett" at a UK-based company called Linkstar Media seeking to place a handful of text ads on my site.

Sure, I said, I'd be happy to take some of your money. But first, could you tell me a little more about Linkstar?

You'd think the answer to that question would be simple. It wasn't. The more information I sought, the more elusive it became.

After I pressed Sarah to tell me what kinds of ads they had in mind, who their advertisers were, if they an affiliate-based ad company, and who actually owned Linkstar, her supervisor "Steve Martins" replied and said Linkstar was no longer interested in advertising on my site.

After he realized I was a journalist (which is pretty obvious if you've ever visited my blog), he warned me that the firm's solicitors would vigorously pursue legal action against any one who published defamatory comments about the company.

Well, saying that to someone who does investigative journalism just for fun is like tossing raw meat to a hyena. So I started digging.

The domains "Linkstar.co.uk" and "Linkstarmedia.co.uk" are registered to a Michael Shanks and Jonas Quinn, respectively. Fans of the Sci Fi Channel will recognize Shanks as the actor who played Dr. Daniel Jackson on Stargate SG-1, and Quinn as the fictional character who took the place of Dr. Jackson in season six of Stargate SG-1.

According to the the company's Certificate of Incorporation (found via the Companies House Web site), Linkstar UK Ltd's sole director is Westco Directors Ltd, and its sole shareholder is a Mr. Alberto Lopez-Garcia, who listed an address in Australia.

The address listed on Linkstar's site belongs to a company called Westbury (aka Westco), a chartered accountancy on St John's Street in London. This is Linkstar's registered agent -- a firm that files paperwork for corporations so the actual owners/operators can keep their identities out of public view. There's nothing illegal about this practice; many small US companies do something similar. I sent email to Westbury requesting more information; I'm still waiting for a response.

A little Web sleuthing turned up Alberto's private email address, his Linked In page, and a few other tidbits, including the scant remnants of a long discussion about Linkstar on a UK Webmaster's forum, which "Stephen" from Linkstar had asked the owner to remove. (He did.)

Needless to say, Alberto was a little surprised to receive my email. At first he declined to answer any questions and requested my physical address so I could be served with papers. Ultimately, though, he called me and we had a nice little chat.

Garcia-Lopez says the names on the domain registrations are in fact from Stargate, but he bought them from a domain reseller and has had trouble getting the records updated.

He said he contacted the owner of the Webmaster forum and requested that a handful of defamatory posts [material deleted at the request of Linkstar] be removed. Instead, he says, the owner took down the entire discussion.

He declined to name any of Linkstar's clients, citing confidentiality agreements. I could only find one ad that was actually placed by Linkstar (which I confirmed with the Webmasters on two sites), and that was for an online gambling site based on the Isle of Mann.

Lopez-Garcia says he isn't trying to hide anything, but he keeps his own name and address off the Linkstar site to protect his own privacy. He says Linkstar is a side business that makes a little money for him, but that's about it. And he asked me several times to a) not to post this entry, and b) keep his name out of it.

Sorry, Alberto. Your name is already in the public record. And in my research I found too many other folks out there who'd been contacted by Linkstar and had the same questions I did; I couldn't just let it drop.

As far as I've been able to determine, Linkstar isn't doing anything illegal or particularly shady. But its penchant for secrecy is troubling. As a general rule, I don't do business with any online company that does not clearly identify its principals or provide its actual place of business - and I don't think other people should, either.

Can running the wrong kinds of ads on your blog or Web site hurt you? Absolutely. But that's a discussion for part two of this series, which will post next week.

UPDATE: The sequel -- "Bloggers beware: Bad ads can come back to bite you" -- is now posted.

Know anything else about Linkstar? Contact me directly - dan (at) dantynan (dot) com - or post your info below.

[Note: This post has been altered slightly since it originally posted to correct a few minor discrepancies.]

When not chasing mysterious Web companies down the rabbit hole, Dan Tynan tends his blogs, Culture Crash and Tynan on Tech.

What People Are Saying

LinkStar is good and they do pay

They don't do any thing illegal. I have used their Ads and they have paid me positively. I suggest you also take the opportunity. All they want is a single link on a single page in your website.

Thanks Dan

I received one of these e-mails today. I am very dubious of cold callers anyway, and the e-mail is certainly structured in the same way as scam mails from the desk of President Ubongo who would like to transfer five million dollars into my bank account if I just let him have my bank details please. Thank you for your excellent (and amusing) article. Keep it up!

They tried me too

My email came from "Geytchian Wakefield". Thank you Dan for your investigation and reporting.

thanks for doing the footwork

Thanks Dan. Your investigation reinforces what I suspected. Many of my clients have received similar offers. Our sites are, for the most part, very local-oriented and I really doubted LinkStar had any legitimate interest in advertising on them.

A discussion that has

A discussion that has lingered too long without anyone who speaks well about them to prove they're good by linking to their own site so that we (the doubters) can have a look at what they're really advertising about.

Do you really believe anyone would fall for you claiming that they're good unless you prove it?

Hi Dan, thanks for your

Hi Dan,
thanks for your information. I received a similar email from Gellene Reynolds who said he is working in linkstar. You know there are many small companies in China which are dealing with the same business unprofessionally. We should not waste our time.

linkstar dudes

Hey Dan...Thanks for your article, it is great to have this sort of investigative journalism.
I agree with your and others' comments about being professional and the fact that Linkstar are not.

Whilst I am not sure what bad can come of having them link to one's site, my gut tells me its not a good call. for $140 or multiples of that, it's still not.

Linkstar should open up. They would get a lot more interest in their proposals. Hanging with Star Wars could just end them up in a Black Hole.

Cheers, Dave

Linkstar Media

I received an offer from Linkstar for carrying advertising from "one of their clients".

Unfortunately for Linkstar, I run a large and successful global web site, have done for many years, and am very familiar with advertising principles.

Their sales pitch was unprofessional, their payment terms unprofessional, and their payment methods similarly unprofessional which rang alarm bells - there are many dubious organisations feeding off gullible amateur we site publishers.

Genuine advertisers will pay in advance. Businesses will offer bank transfer payments to other businesses(we insist on them).

Advertising is sold by column inches in the printed media, offering to buy "a text advert" is like approaching a car dealer and asking to buy "a car", a professional would know to make a clear proposal, citing pages, layout, size etc.

Matt

Linkstar media

I run a music promotion service and recently received an email offer from Linkstar. They offered to pay me to put their advertisements on a specific page on my site. I asked who they represented. They avoided that question, but offered me a small amount of money to be able to link to one of the pages on my site. I'm not sure what or who they are, but it seems very strange that they wouldn't be more than willing to let me know what advertisements they are planning to place. I won't follow up with them.
Thanks for your article. Forewarned is forearmed.

On my site one minute and "ping" an email from them the next!

Just this minute had an email from a Linkstar marketeer. I checked out their website, noticed that they are only contactable by email though there's a mobile phone number but not for use to discuss advertising deals and I became suspicious. Tapped in 'Linkstar' found your good-self and I am delighted that you've flagged this lot up - 'bravo' a we say in Greece.

On checking my stats did notice the Filipino IP had visited my website (as mentioned on a previous comment) and, noted that it was a mere two minutes later that an email was delivered to my outbox - boy they're fast.